Posted by: tranquilpc | March 8, 2009

Great News !

NEWS – March 2009 – BBC Radio One’s Chris Moyles and other celebs raise over £1,300,000 for Comic Relief Charity – climbing Mount Kilimanjaro (5800M)!

It’s great to see that despite the ‘credit crunch’ that every one still gives generously to charity, every penny counts. Thanks to Radio One for your valiant efforts.

Now for an equally amazing new story, another challenging mountain climb, please read on

“Grandmother Scales Peru Mountain (4800M) for Macmillan Cancer Support”

 

clip_image001[1]Hello my name is Sue Thompson and I am a director of Tranquil PC Limited and on 29th May 2009, I will be trekking The Inca Trail as part of Macmillan’s Peru Hiking Challenge. I was luckily cured of cancer in my 30’s but unfortunately my father and father-in-law both died of cancer and I am taking part in this trek in their memory. The 10 day challenge is at high altitude and it promises to be an extremely testing physical challenge as we will be trekking and rough camping in remote and dramatic conditions. The event, and the months of preparation, will be tough as I have never done anything like this before but I am committed to raise £3,300.00 for Macmillan Cancer Support (registered charity no 261017). If you would like to find out more please visit my website http://www.sponsor-sue.co.uk

Each and every day 739 people in the UK are told they have cancer. More than one million people in the UK today have had a cancer diagnosis, myself included, and more than one in three will be diagnosed at some time in their life. As well as taking action today to support people from the moment they suspect they have cancer, Macmillan are shaping the future of cancer care. Their increasing range of services, are funded entirely through the generosity of their supporters. Thanks to this support, Macmillan provides the practical and emotional support which makes a real difference to people living with cancer today – and tomorrow.

clip_image003I am writing to ask for your assistance as I have to raise a minimum of £3300 to take part in the event, of which 100% will benefit Macmillan Cancer Support as I am covering my own travelling expenses. I hope that you will consider sponsoring me in my challenge, which I am aware is a very minor one compared with the challenge that cancer patients face every day.

I would be very grateful if you are able to support me, I am looking for either a cash donation or an item which I could auction for charity – every little helps so whatever you are able to donate would be gratefully received.  Or you could visit my JustGiving* webpage which will allow you to donate straight to Macmillan online http://www.justgiving.com/suethompson3

Chris and BBC Radio One raised over £1,300,000 – please help me to raise my modest £3300

Yours faithfully

Sue

*Justgiving is a secure website allowing sponsors to securely make an online payment straight to the charity involved.

 

Please support Sue, as she takes a few weeks out of Tranquil PC to complete this challenge in May 2009 – Tranquil PC supports Sue’s Challenge !

Leave a Reply

Categories

