Posted by: tranquilpc | December 29, 2007

2008 with a Media smile

I wonder if it it’s possible … a 2TB home server base unit, servicing not only my Home Server needs but my Media Centre needs too….. ?

I’m just reviewing a new ‘project’ from our labs.  Code named TVMServer – this fan-less appliance could see the end of the costs and worries of many of the ‘digital home’ issues.

Providing all of the WHS (Home Server) services you’ve come to love, but with TVM (Television and Media) server features too.  All in one box !  The associated HD enabled Set Top Boxes complete the package.

Imagine, you have up to 4x HD TV screens (the HD Set top box supports Svideo, Component Video or HMDI video, and analog / Digital Audio) in your home, and the new TVMServer.  Each of the STBs can enjoy streaming live Digital (DVB-T) TV, playback TV recordings, setup recordings, TV guide, etc.  Also enjoy Music / Photo review, and online entertainment (some in HD).

Is this possible, is it affordable ?  At the moment our concept review systems are looking good, and if everything goes well – you may soon be seeing this most interesting of solutions being listed on the Tranquil PC eshop.

Leave a comment if you want to know more.

Responses

  1. This sounds absolutely awesome! If you’re looking for someone to test it just give me a shout πŸ˜‰

    If there was a “music only” option to compliment it – so I could stream my music collection to rooms without TV’s as well that’d be the icing on the cake!

  2. Yes, please do let us know more!
    I am looking for a Home Server and the Tranquil T2 is an interesting option. I may wait for this “new kid on the block” πŸ˜‰

  3. I was reading reviews of the T7 WHS device and thinking “it looks great, but I’d need a second device as a media centre”. So you can imagine my delight when I followed a few links here and found you’ve anticipated my desires. Sounds very exciting – I can’t wait!

  4. From what I read above this seems to be a media server appliance with associated set top boxes. Is there any chance the set top boxes could be sold separately with an add in for an existing homeserver? I know I would go for it straight away if that were the case.

    ANS : The TVM project as it is known will be live very very soon, and yes the STBs will be available on their own !! πŸ™‚

  5. Any more news on this – its almost 2009 πŸ™‚

    ANS : TVM is coming – REALLY soon……. watch http://www.tranquilpc.co.uk/hsa.htm for news


Leave a Reply

Categories

