Posted by: tranquilpc | November 7, 2007

Diary – Day 3 ‘Bad day’

Day 3bigstockphoto_Diary_Entry_215990

 

 

 

 

Bad news today, I was awoken at 4:30 in the morning by a deathly silence… strange but true, I turned over to see my alarm clock wasn’t on. Looks like something tripped out the power, I went downstairs to the RCD box and discovered the main power had tripped out… So, it looks like an Earth Leakage trip rather than a power overload. I switched on the RCD, it tripped immediately. I turned off all of the RCD circuits and switched on the main power RCD, it was all good. I switched on the upstairs lighting circuit, all good, downstairs, same, ring 2 (living room and dining room) about 20 seconds apart…  then ring 1 (Kitchen and Upstairs), 10 seconds later, “click” all the power went off again, so it was definitely something bad in the kitchen at a guess… Its now 4:45 in the morning and I’m wishing I didn’t know about this, because I have to work on this and get it sorted.

I went into the kitchen and switched off and unplugged all the devices and repeated the same process… all was good. Then I went through and plugged in each device in turn / then power on… eventually I switched on the fridge… and it tripped again… one more try and the RCD stayed on… It didn’t look good and then I realised something, those three times WHS tried to come online, that would have been the beep I heard each time… I ran to log onto my laptop, then onto the Windows Home Server, “Green Light”, all was good… no problems at all… well at least I could go back to bed… having said that, I still stayed up and waited to see if it would trip again… but no problems at all…

Diary Index

Responses

  1. […] Page 1 – “Tranquil Life ….My background” and introduction to a tree huggerPage 2 – Diary – “Day 1 – Knock Knock”Page 3 – Diary – “Day 2 – 220W saving“Page 4 – Diary – “Day 3  – Bad day” […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

